2021 ABQ Jewish Book Fest Presents

Annabelle Gurwitch | You're Leaving When?

Virtual at the J and at home

at JCC of Greater ABQ

October 21, 2021 7:00 pm - 8:30 pm
Add to Cal
Time: 7:00pm     Day: Thursday     Doors: 6:30pm     Ages: All Ages     Price: $10

All Associated Events

2021 ABQ Jewish Book Fest Series Pass
October 17 - November 14, 2021
Joshua Greene | Unstoppable
October 17, 2021 10:00 am - 11:30 pm
David Grossman | More Than I Love My Life
October 20, 2021 10:30 am - 12:00 pm
Annabelle Gurwitch | You're Leaving When?
October 21, 2021 7:00 pm - 8:30 pm
Jean Hanff Korelitz | The Plot
October 24, 2021 3:00 pm - 4:30 pm
Rachael Cerrotti | We Share the Same Sky
October 28, 2021 7:00 pm - 8:30 pm
Meriel Schindler | The Lost Café Schindler
October 31, 2021 10:00 am - 11:30 am
Yaniv Iczkovits | The Slaughterman's Daughter
November 7, 2021 2:00 pm - 3:30 pm
Judy Batalion | The Light of Days
November 14, 2021 6:00 pm - 7:30 pm

Virtual at the J and at home

 

Annabelle Gurwitch’s You’re Leaving When? is a pure delight, full of ambivalence, regret, laughter, rage, melancholy, and most importantly, honest observations about grappling with life’s bewildering cavalcade of surprises and disappointments.”  Heather Havrilesky, New York Magazine

 

New York Times best-selling author Gurwitch is back with a coming-of-a-certain-age memoir about what it means to be part of the American middle class in steady decline. Home sharing with people experiencing homelessness, dating while gray, boomerang parenting, caring for aging parents, and eco-anxiety are just a few of the topics covered in this hilarious and honest collection of essays. Gurwitch’s perspective on both the major and the mundane will be relatable to anyone. From parenting during the age of COVID-19 and Zoom meetings to living with anxiety to running out of gas on the way to celebrate family milestones, her stories are as personal as they are universal. The author is at her best when including a series of unsent letters to various people, including girlfriends, relatives, and even her mortgage company. The latest from Gurwitch will have readers rolling with laughter one minute and picking up the phone to commiserate with friends or family the next. The author is a delightful eccentric aunt-to-all with her wit, caring, and wisdom. For fans of Nora Ephron and Dorothy Parker. 

 

​Annabelle Gurwitch (I See You Made and Effort; Tales of the Canned, Canceled, Downsized, & Dismissed) Those only familiar with Gurwitch’s tenure (1996-2002) on the TV show Dinner and a Movie will find that it only hinted at the Thurber Award nominee’s deceptively literate talents. Not just an accomplished actress, the author is also the author of five books, a contributor to NPR, and her essays and satire have appeared in the New York Times, the Wall Street Journal, the New Yorker, and the Los Angeles Times, Hadassah, among other publications. She will be visiting from Los Angeles.

This event is presented in collaboration with the the Jewish Book Council. Annabelle will present her book and answer questions. To purchase books in advance, our bookstore partners online: Bookworks (4022 Rio Grande Blvd NW) and Page 1 Books (5850 Eubank Blvd NE). 

Tickets:  In-Person $10/advance; $12/door; Virtual $10

Questions? Call 332-0565 x 1007 or email mayas@jccabq.org